About the School

The School of Pharmacy and Molecular Sciences at James Cook University is a multidisciplinary unit comprising ~ 40 academic, technical and administrative staff and 25 postgraduate and honours students. Our focus is the delivery of high quality education and research in the areas of chemistry, biochemistry, molecular biology and pharmacy. The School is located over three buildings in the Science and Medicine precincts along the ring road of the Douglas Campus (see locator map).

The Molecular Sciences building (DB21) adjoins the Biochemistry annex (DB20) while Pharmacy is currently located within the Medicine school precinct (DB47) in the new Pharmacy and Medicine Building. We also have Chemistry staff based at the Cairns Campus (Building E1) of James Cook University.

The School plays a significant teaching role in the following degree programs:

  • Bachelor of Biomedical Sciences;

  • Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Science;

  • Bachelor of Medicine/Bachelor of Surgery;

  • Bachelor of Dental Surgery;

  • Bachelor of Nursing Science;

  • Bachelor of Pharmacy;

  • Bachelor of Science;

  • Bachelor of Education;

  • Bachelor of Engineering;