Magistrate Cathy McLennan to discuss her powerful new book Saltwater

@JCU Magistrate Cathy McLennan to discuss her powerful new book Saltwater

Magistrate Cathy McLennan, 2015 JCU Outstanding Alumna of the year, will discuss her powerful new book Saltwater – August 16 (Townsville)

cathy mclennan

JCU Townsville Alumni Network invites you to

Meet Cathy McLennan, JCU Outstanding Alumna of the year 2015, a Magistrate now based in Innisfail and Winner of the Queensland Literary Award for Best Emerging Author - Discussing her powerful new book SALTWATER

with the introduction by The Honourable Kieran Cullinane 

Tuesday 16 August at 6pm (arrive any time from 5.30pm refreshments served) Medical Lecture Theatre, Building 45-002 Douglas Campus.

This event is free, door donations welcomed towards the Alumni Scholarship fund.  

Four teenagers, a murder and a woman on a quest for justice. This is a jaw-dropping moral thriller. 

In the tropical far North Queensland all is not picture perfect. Beneath the tourism veneer of Townsville, and on Palm Island simmers a world of inter-generational violence, poverty, sexual abuse and crime. Fresh out of law school, the new barrister on the block at the Aboriginal and TI Legal Service, wide-eyed Cathy McLennan is thrown into a lawless place, where children are jailed for petty offences and where no family is safe. Naive, short-staffed and with cases mounting by the day, Cathy McLennan must get to the bottom of a murder committed by the youngest person ever to be convicted in Queensland. 

For fans of Helen Garner and Chloe Hooper, Saltwater is a masterful and muscular true story which will both shock and compel you. Based on real events, real crimes, real people and real court cases, this book will make you question everything - the police, the justice system, the government - and just who are the criminals and who are the victims. 

Will this fight for justice destroy Cathy before it saves the very people who need  her help? Riveting and alarming, you won't be able to put this book down until it reaches its chilling conclusion. 

If Monday night's ABC TV's Four Corners on the NT Detention Centre chilled you to the core - DO NOT MISS THIS EVENT.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Cathy McLennan is the winner of the 2014 Queensland Literary Award for Best Emerging Author and has written for the Courier Mail and the Townsville Bulletin. She has more than twenty years experience in criminal law, from  her early days working as a barrister for the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Legal Service in North Queensland, to appearing in the High Court and deciding cases as a Queensland Magistrate. She has a Masters of Law and was the recipient of the 2015 Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Alumnus of James Cook University. Cathy grew up on Magnetic Island and is well known for her dedication to vulnerable Queenslanders. She lives with her husband and their two children. 

Mary Who? Bookshop will be on-hand with book sales ($32.95) - Pre-orders welcomed

To register OR pre-purchase book, click here