Bachelor of Arts Advisory Group

Connecting the university and community, the Bachelor of Arts Advisory Group advises on measures to support the prospects of Bachelor of Arts graduates. The focus is on developing students' skills and competencies with regard to the contemporary needs of relevant employment sectors. This includes making recommendations on the program of Industry Engaged Learning activities in the course in relation to workplace needs.

Group Members

JCU College of Arts, Society and Education




Professor Nola Alloway TSV

College Dean

Professor Rosita Henry TSV

Professor Social Sciences

Professor Richard Nile TSV

Head of Academic Group, Humanities and Creative Arts

Dr Marie Oelgemoeller TSV

BA First Year Coordinator (Cairns)

Dr Nick Osbaldiston CNS

BA First Year Coordinator (Townsville)

External Representatives




Michelle Bird TSVDirector and Principal Archaeologist, North Qld Cultural Heritage P/

Major Caroline Bourne TSV

Regional Education Officer, Flexible Learning Centre, Lavarack Barracks, Townsville

Dr Barbara Dover CNS

Trevor Foster TSVEducational Designer, JCU Learning Teaching & Student

Dr Susan Hawthorne CNS

Writer, Poet, Political Commentator, Publisher, Adjunct Prof — JCU College of Arts Society & Education

Aquilar Luki CNS

Community Liaison Officer, Bentley Park College

Dr Jocelyn McKinnon TSV

Founder of La Luna Arts in Townsville; Retired Academic

Claire Ovaska TSVSenior Liaison Librarian, JCU Information & Research

Stephanie Schierhuber CNS

JCU Student, PhD in English; Marketing Assistant, JCU Marketing

Joann Schmider CNSManaging Director (Partnership) company community ACETS P/

Mr Clive Skarott CNS

President of the Cairns Historical Society/Cairns Museum, Business consultant, former Chair of the Port Authority, Chair & Director — JCU Dental, Member of Ergon and Hospital Boards

Eve Stafford OAM CNSAustralia Council for the Arts Fellowship re models of rural and remote service delivery (1998), Co-Director of Savvy
Janelle Williams CNSVisual Arts Head of Department Trinity Bay State High