Dean, College of Medicine and Dentistry

Professor Richard Murray

Dean of the College of Medicine and Dentistry

Prof Richard Murray



Phone:  07 4781 5025
Fax:       07 4725 1772

Campus location

Medical 1 (Building 39), Room 126

Professor Richard Murray is the Dean of the College of Medicine and Dentistry at James Cook University (JCU). At JCU he leads Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy and related research and service. He is also responsible for general practice training for 90% of Queensland under the Australian General Practice Training Program. Professor Murray’s career focus has been in rural generalist medicine, Aboriginal health, public health, tropical medicine, medical and health professional education and the healthcare needs of underserved populations. He has a national and international profile in rural medical education and rural medicine and has held a range of leadership positions.

Professor Murray is acting President of Medical Deans Australia and New Zealand, a Director on the Board of the Mackay Hospital and Health Service and a past President of the Australian College of Rural and Remote Medicine. Prior to joining JCU as Planning Director of the Rural Clinical School in 2005, Professor Murray spent 14 years in the remote Kimberley region of Western Australia, including 12 years as the Medical Director of the Kimberley Aboriginal Medical Services Council.

Areas of professional interest and leadership include:

  • Rural health systems strengthening, including supply of rural medical and health workforce, promotion of generalist models of clinical care, appropriate use of technology and the development of new and extended health professional roles;
  • Shaping national policy on health systems and health professional education reform with an emphasis on rural health, primary care and generalist medical care and the JCU experience;
  • Socially accountable health professional education that seeks to align teaching research and service to the priority healthcare needs of communities.
  • Building international alliances to promote Rural Generalist Medicine as a means of strengthening access to quality, safe and affordable health care in rural and remote communities.
  • Professor Murray has participated in the national policy arena in rural and remote medicine and health, health professional education and Aboriginal health for over 20 years and has had a key role in many initiatives, including a recent appointment by the Prime Minister to the National Ice Taskforce.


Research interests include meeting the needs of medically underserved populations, health workforce innovation, chronic disease and application of evidence, information technology and quality enhancement systems in health care practice.

For more information please see Research portfolio


Carrick Institute Awards for Australian University Teaching, Citation for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning 2006 ($10,000)

Awarded to JCU rural medicine teaching team (Sengupta T, Grant M, Murray R, McKenzie A, Harrison K) for “developing an evidence-based approach to rural teaching for medical students that is integrated geographically and across the course, and closely connected to industry”.

National Institute of Clinical Studies Cochrane Users Award, General Category 2004 ($1,000)

Awarded to the Kimberley Aboriginal Medical Services Council for development of a text which ‘used over 40 systematic reviews from the Cochrane Library’ and is ‘an example of how Cochrane evidence has influenced health policy including supporting development of evidence-based initiatives such as the introduction of a Medicare rebate for a preventive health assessment in younger Aboriginal people and Torres Strait Islanders’ (for Couzos S, Murray R. Aboriginal Primary Health Care – an Evidence Based Approach 2nd Ed Oxford University Press 2003)

Medical Journal of Australia/Wyeth Award 2003 ($10,000)

Awarded for the best original research article published in the Medical Journal of Australia each year, as judged by the Editors and Content Review Committee of the MJA (for: Couzos S, Lea T, Mueller R, Murray R, Culbong M. Effectiveness of ototopical antibiotics for chronic suppurative otitis media in Aboriginal children: a community-based, multicentre, double-blind randomised controlled trial. Med J Aust. 2003 Aug 18;179(4):185-90.)

National Institute of Clinical Studies Cochrane Users Award, Major Winner 2004 ($5,000)

For chronic suppurative otitis media RCT (Couzos S, Lea T, Mueller R, Murray R, Culbong M)