Course Structure - Bachelor of Science in Physics

Courses and Study Subject alternative pages Course Structure - Bachelor of Science in Physics

All students in the course will study these three core subjects in their first year.

SC1101:03 Science: Nature, Knowledge and Understanding

SC1102:03 Modelling Natural Systems

CH1001:03 Chemistry: A Central Science or CH1011:03 Chemistry for the Natural Sciences

All students must choose a Major to study in detail (see subject list below). You have the option of focussing on another key study area by taking a Second Major, or broadening your scientific knowledge by selecting science subjects from many disciplines. For the rules about the full course structure, please visit the Bachelor of Science handbook page.

BSc – Physics Major

Major Code


Available in

Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) – Bachelor of Science

Bachelor of Science

Professional Accreditation Status

This major for the Bachelor of Science and joint degrees Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) – Bachelor of Science is accredited by the Australian Institute of Physics (AIP). Graduates are automatically eligible for membership of the Australian Institute of Physics.

Additional information

Not available for mid-year entry

Mathematics is the only second major available with Physics as a first major within the BSc

Only the 30cp version of this major is available within the BEng(Hons)-BSc

Credit points

30 credit points

Major Structure


Level 1

PH1005:03 Advanced Stream Physics 1

PH1007:03 Advanced Stream Physics 2

Level 2

PH2002:03 Classical Mechanics and Quantum Physics 1

PH2019:03 Introduction to Electromagnetism Optics and Thermodynamics

PH2240:03 Atomic and Nuclear Physics

Level 3

PH3002:03 Quantum Physics 2

PH3006:03 Oceanography and Meteorology

PH3008:03 Statistical Mechanics and Transport

PH3019:03 Electromagnetic Phenomena