CTS Advisory Board

The Cyclone Testing Station Station's Advisory Board is structured around organisations rather than individuals. It includes representatives of State and Local government authorities, James Cook University, organisations and associations within the building industry, building product manufacturers as well as some invited members.

All Advisory Board positions are honorary. The Board meets three times per year, usually in Townsville.

The Station is extremely grateful to those members who travel from Brisbane and interstate for committee meetings. It is also grateful to their employers who support their time and air fares. The Committee members are:




John Galloway


Master Builders Australia

Deputy Chair
Lindsay Walker

Building Codes Queensland

Queensland Government

Head of College
Marcus Lane

College of Science & Engineering

James Cook University

David Henderson

Cyclone Testing Station

James Cook University

Mark Leplastrier


Insurance Industry

Wayne Preedy

Townsville City Council

Local Government

Michael Barkhausen

Willis Re

Insurance Industry

Armando Padovan

NT Planning & Infrastructure

Corresponding Member

Subo Gowripalan

Stramit Industries

Private Industry

John Kralic

BlueScope Lysaght

Private Industry

Ron de Veer

Australian Building Codes Board

Australian Building Codes Board

David Evans

QLD Department of Housing and Public Works

Queensland Government

Luke Saxby


Insurance Industry

Elizabeth McIntyre

Roof Tile Association Australia

Roofing Industry

Julian Benton

Suncorp Insurance Industry

Adrian Gabrielli

A. Gabrielli Constructions P/L

By Invitation - Building & Construction

George Walker

James Cook University

By invitation

Roger MacCallum

MacCallum & Partners Architects

Royal Australian Institute of Architects

Karen Messer

Northern Consulting Engineers

Engineers Australia

Gary Stick

Queensland Building & Construction Commission



The Station has two Patrons:

  • Professor Sandra Harding
    Vice Chancellor of James Cook University
  • Mr Don Fry
    Chairman Aimtek Pty Ltd

The CTS has NATA accreditation for testing services. Please contact us for further details.

NATA logo