About us

Our group is open to anyone working within The Division of Tropical Health and Medicine (DTHM) who self-identifies as an early or mid-career researcher (typically up to 15 years post-PhD, excluding career breaks). The group aims to foster a sense of community between our EMCRs and support overall career progression.

The group meets monthly varying between discussion sessions, invited speakers, workshops and social events. We also organise a yearly retreat focusing on researcher skill development and bringing together our members based at different university campuses.

The group has established an EMCR mentoring plan available to all members who are interested. Our past priorities have included the development of HDR supervision capabilities, identifying opportunities for EMCRs to be involved in teaching and skilling staff to be more assertive in being able to drive their own performance development plan. Our 2021 priorities include promotion/media opportunities and identifying and effectively linking to external opportunities for collaboration.

Please direct any enquiries to the committee’s mailbox emcr-committee@jcu.edu.au

Current committee members and roles

Dr. Andreas Kupz


Photo of Dr. Oyelola Adegboye

Dr. Oyelola Adegboye

Deputy Chair, Townsville

Dr. Dileep Sharma

Deputy Chair, Cairns

Dr. Anton Pak

Deputy Chair

Photo of Dr. Rachael Ryan

Dr. Rachael Ryan

Events Coordinator

Dr. Phurpa Wangchuk


Dr. Katie Tungatt


Previous committees

Chair – Dr. Andreas Kupz

Deputy Chair, Townsville – Dr. Anton Pak

Deputy Chair, Cairns – Dr. Dileep Sharma

Events Coordinator – Dr. Rachael Ryan

Treasurer – Dr. Phurpa Wangchuk

Secretary – Dr. Katie Tungatt

Chair – Dr. Andreas Kupz

Chair – Dr. Andreas Kupz