Foundation for Australian Literary Studies 2019 Colin Roderick Memorial Lecture

2019 Colin Roderick Memorial Lecture

How we keep our pens mighty: Writing against power

Bri Lee, the author of the fierce and eloquent memoir Eggshell Skull, spoke about the power and importance of writing in shaping modern Australia.Her book and advocacy exposed and challenged the criminal justice system, and she discussed this alongside what is needed to keep pens mightier than swords.

Lee is a freelance writer whose writing on legal, social, and cultural issues has been published in The Monthly, The Guardian, The Saturday Paper, Crikey, and elsewhere. She uses her legal qualifications to advocate for criminal law and procedural reform. Eggshell Skull was longlisted for the 2019 Stella Prize, shortlisted for the 2019 Australian Book Industry Awards in two categories, shortlisted for the 2019 Indie Book Awards, shortlisted for the 2019 Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards in non-fiction, winning the 2019 People’s Choice Award, and also won the 2018 People’s Choice at the Nib Awards for research in writing.


Date: Wednesday 17 July | 6.30pm for 7pm start

Venue: The Cairns Institute (building D3), JCU

Bri Lee
Author & Advocate


Date: Thursday 18 July | 6.30pm for 7pm start

Venue: Medical Lecture Theatre (building 45), JCU

The Foundation of Australian Literary Studies hosts an annual evening public lecture in Townsville and Cairns in memory of the late Professor Colin Roderick.  The event series provides a platform for celebrated Australian authors to share their stories that have influenced their writing.

This event is proudly supported by:


Follow the Foundation on Facebook for all the latest news and events.