Commencing Candidates

Congratulations on the start of your
research degree!

The following information relates to you as a commencing Higher Degree by Research (HDR) candidate. Individual Colleges will also have information for new candidates, particularly relating to Workplace Health and Safety legislation. Please organise to undertake a College-based induction that includes Workplace Health and Safety matters as soon as possible after enrolment, and ensure that you retain evidence that you have completed this training. Contact your College’s Academic Services Officer (ASO) for further information.

Standard Enrolment Dates for HDR Candidates 2017

Date

Campus

Tuesday 17 January

All JCU Campuses

Tuesday 31 January

All JCU Campuses

Tuesday 14 February

All JCU Campuses

Tuesday 28 February

All JCU Campuses

Tuesday 14 March

All JCU Campuses

Tuesday 28 March

All JCU Campuses

Tuesday 11 April

All JCU Campuses

Tuesday 9 May

All JCU Campuses

Tuesday 6 June

All JCU Campuses

Tuesday 4 July

All JCU Campuses

Tuesday 1 August

All JCU Campuses

Tuesday 12 September

All JCU Campuses

Tuesday 10 October

All JCU Campuses

Tuesday 7 November

All JCU Campuses

Tuesday 5 December

All JCU Campuses

Your Welcome Pack and Handbook

The Graduate Research School (GRS) provides a welcome pack that highlights key information relevant to you as a commencing HDR candidate. The GRS also encourages candidates to familiarise themselves with the content of the GRS website, in particular the contents of this Commencing Candidates webpage as well as our Enrolled Candidates webpage.

Upon enrolment in your research degree, you should also download the following forms and complete them when you meet with your advisory panel:

Getting Started

The following information is relevant to all commencing research higher degree candidates at JCU.  It is important that candidates are aware of their responsibilities in terms of professional and generic skills development and training, as well as research ethics, reporting requirements and candidature milestones. All JCU HDR candidates must undertake compulsory workshops during the early stages of their candidature.  The links below will direct you to the relevant information. International candidates, including those who have English as an Additional Language, should note the need to undertake the SKIP program and, in certain specified cases, take the PELA test.