Dean’s List and Dean’s Award for Excellence 2015

The 2015 Award recipients demonstrated excellence in a research higher degree and were commended by their independent examiners for substantial contribution to their field of research.

Dr Lynne Bartlett, Doctor of Public Health

‘Faecal Incontinence in North Queensland’

Primary Advisor: Emeritus Prof Richard Speare

Associate Advisor: Dr Madeleine Nowak

Co-Advisor: Prof Yik-Hong Ho

Dr Scott Engle, Doctor of Philosophy (Astronomy)

‘The Secret Lives of Cepheids: A Multi-Wavelength Study of the Atmospheres and Real-Time Evolution of Classical Cepheids.’

Primary Advisor: Prof Edward Guinan

Co-Advisor: Prof Ian Whittingham

Dr Christopher Goatley, Doctor of Philosophy (Marine Biology)

‘The Ecological Role of Sediments on Coral Reefs’

Primary Advisor: Prof David Bellwood

Co-Advisor: Prof Geoffrey Jones

Dr Johannes Hammerli, Doctor of Philosophy (Geology)

‘Using Microanalysis of Minerals to Track Geochemical Processes during Metamorphism: Examples from the Mary Kathleen Fold Belt, Queensland, and the Eastern Mt. Lofty Ranges, South Australia’

Primary Advisor: A/Prof Carl Spandler

Associate Advisor: Dr Anthony Kemp

Associate Advisor: Dr Christa Placzek

Co-Advisor: Dr Simon Richards

Dr Ryl Harrison, Doctor of Philosophy (Political Science)

‘Telling Lies to Little Girls: The Sexual Politics of Mothering Girls’

Primary Advisor: Dr Nonie Harris

Co-Advisor: Dr Surin Maisrikrod

Dr Kelly Hodgson, Doctor of Philosophy (Microbiology)

‘The Development and Characterisation of a Murine Model of Type 2 Diabetes and Burkholderia pseudomallei Infection.’

Primary Advisor: Prof Natkunam Ketheesan

Co-Advsior: Dr Jodie Morris

Co-Advisor: A/Prof Brenda Govan

Dr Ruth Kamrowski, Doctor of Philosophy (Environmental Science)

‘Coastal Light Pollution in Australia: Insights and Implications for Marine Turtle Conservation’

Primary Advisor: A/Prof Mark Hamann

Associate Advisor: Dr Renae Tobin

Associate Advisor: Dr Col Limpus

Co-Advisor: Dr Stephen Sutton

Co-Advisor: Dr James Moloney

Dr Jutta Kockler, Doctor of Philosophy (Pharmacy)

‘Sunscreens: Evaluation of Photostability, Formulation and Skin Penetration’

Primary Advisor: Prof Beverley Glass

Associate Advisor: Dr Sherryl Robertson

Co-Advisor: A/Prof Michael Oelgemoeller

Dr Joleah Lamb, Doctor of Philosophy (Marine Biology)

‘Influence of Marine-Based Industries on Coral Health and Disease’

Primary advisor: Prof Bette Willis

Associate advisor: Prof Garry Russ

Co-advisor: Dr Britta Schaffelke

Dr Rhian Morgan, Doctor of Philosophy (Anthropology)

‘Virtually Reality: An Ethnographic Study of Sociality, Being and Money in a Multi-Player Online Game-World’

Primary Advisor: Dr Robin Rodd

Co-Advisor: Prof Ian Atkinson

Dr Sandra Sewell, Doctor of Philosophy (Women’s Studies)

‘Women and the Environment: An Indicative Study on Tamborine Mountain, Queensland’

Primary Advisor: Dr Nonie Harris

Associate Advisor: A/Prof Susan Gair

Co-Advisor: Mr Peter Jones