Our Indigenous Academic Support Advisors are here to help you succeed in your studies and progress through your degree.

They have an in-depth understanding of the challenges students usually face during their higher education studies, especially students from Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander backgrounds. They will also help with:

  • Academic coaching, such as tutoring
  • Helping you develop strategies to identify areas of improvement in your studies
  • Staying on track with your studies
  • Supporting you to create an effective study plan, and
  • Suggesting alternative ways to improve your academic progress.

Indigenous Academic Support Advisors are available for all our students, whether you are studying in Cairns or Townsville, at a regional study centre, or as an off-campus (external) student.

Kirby Brennan

Kirby Brennan

Indigenous Academic Support Advisor

kirby.brennan@jcu.edu.au
Phone (07) 4781 5875

Townsville Campus

Deann Grant

Deann Grant

Indigenous Academic Support Advisor

deann.grant@jcu.edu.au
Phone (07) 4232 1122

Cairns Campus

Megan Harrison

Megan Harrison

Indigenous Academic Support Advisor

megan.harrison@jcu.edu.au
Phone (07) 4781 5871

Townsville Campus

Emma Iwikau

Emma Iwikau

Indigenous Academic Support Advisor

emma.iwikau@jcu.edu.au
Phone (07) 4781 6462

Townsville Campus

Trina Jackson

Trina Jackson

Indigenous Academic Support Advisor

trina.jackson@jcu.edu.au
Phone (07) 4781 5313

Townsville Campus

Juanita Sellwood

Juanita Sellwood

Indigenous Academic Support Advisor

juanita.sellwood@jcu.edu.au
Phone (07) 4232 1482

Cairns Campus