Brian Eaton Rail Engineering Prize

History of the prize

The Brian Eaton Rail Engineering Prize was established in 2016 in Brian's memory, by his family. In 1977 Brian graduated from James Cook University with a Bachelor of Engineering (Hons) and commenced work with Queensland Rail. He worked all over the state but the majority of his time was spent in North Queensland in areas covering Mt Isa, Cloncurry, Mackay, Cairns and finally Townsville, where he eventually retired after 39 years of service. Brian was proud that he was the first JCU Civil Engineering graduate to be employed by Queensland Rail and he was widely acknowledged as a practical engineer who was very highly regarded by his peers. Brian made a special commitment to mentor JCU Students when they were on internships


Bernadette Eaton

Prize Information

Awarded to the Bachelor of Engineering (Honours) student scoring the highest aggregated mark in the second year core Civil Engineering subjects: CS2002: Catchment Stream and Lake Engineering; CS2003: Introduction to Structural Design; and CS2005: Introduction to Geotechnical Engineering.


2020 - Dean Alexander Campbell

2019 - Adam Bradley Zurvas

2018 - Ryan Attard

2017 - Troy James Shand