FAQs Class Reg

Frequently Asked Questions about Class Registration

  • How does the change to class registration impact me?
    You no longer need to manage class sign up in LearnJCU. Classes will be generated via the timetabling system and registration will occur either in bulk or via student self-registration in eStudent. The classes and their registered students will be automatically imported into LearnJCU. 
  • What if I need to delete a tute session?
    This can be arranged by contacting your Academic Services Team to update details in the timetable system.
  • How will students be informed of the changes to class registration?
    Student Services will notify students directly about the changes to class registration. Refer to the Changes to class registration for 2016 webpage for up to date information.
  • What do I need to tell students about signing up for tutorials?
    Students must register for all classes, including tutorials, in eStudent. Medicine, Dentistry, Pharmacy and Veterinary Science students will be registered into core subjects by their respective Colleges.
  • What if a student wants to change to another tute group after they have already signed up?
    The student must log onto eStudent to make any changes to their class registration before the end of week 2.
  • What if a student wants to change to another tute group after class registration has closed?
    Self registration closes at the end of week 2 of teaching and students must then contact their Divisional Enrolments team for help. You can contact the Divisional Enrolments Team on behalf of the student to request a class change.
  • Will I be able to see the classes and registered students in LearnJCU?
    Yes, all classes and their registered students will be automatically imported into LearnJCU and can be accessed from the Groups area.
  • How do I recognise a system generated class in LearnJCU?
    The names of your system generated groups will follow a consistent naming convention. For example: 16-BU1007-TSV-INT-SP2 Tutorial 1 Group 1 MON 09:00 101.001
  • Can I change the name of system generated groups in LearnJCU?
    No. It is critical that you do NOT modify the name of system generated groups. Doing so will cause students to lose access to all Group related functions and will invalidate content release rules, communication and reporting functions based on group membership.
  • How do you protect the integrity of class generated groups?
    Group management privileges are not granted to teaching staff by default to minimise the possibility of accidental modification of the groups and their members.
  • What if I want to create my own groups for a group learning activity?
    If you require access to groups for facilitating a learning activity (eg. A group project, controlling content release etc) you can apply for Group Management Privileges by submitting this form in Staff Online. Upon agreeing to the conditions of use you will be able to manually manage groups in all your LearnJCU subject sites.
  • What if I accidentally add or remove a student from a system generated tutorial group?
    Please contact learnjcu@jcu.edu.au immediately with the details of the student and request a reconcile for that individual to restore their access to the group.
  • What if I accidentally rename or delete a system generated tutorial group?
    Please contact learnjcu@jcu.edu.au immediately with your LearnJCU subject code and request a full subject reconcile. Note: There may be a delay in restoration of the group as reconciles can affect system performance and may need to be performed after hours.