From our recent webinar and online open hours we have collated the most frequently asked questions relating to using Collaborate Subject Rooms.
Students can join sessions without a Moderator, however, to share content a Moderator must give them Presenter access. Lecturers can do this when setting up a session by using a guest link and allowing all guests to join as a Presenter or during a session Moderators can promote an attendee to Presenter.
You could link to a video or share an application. It depends on the complexity of the maths equation as to what program/tool you use. You could also use a stylus and whiteboard tools. NB. This would need to be tested in each individual application by the Moderator to confirm.
Annotation while sharing files/whiteboard is automatically on. You can turn off the annotation tool for students in case they don't want them to use the feature. This setting can be changed during a session.
No, Collaborate does not currently have a highlighter.
We do not recommend sharing videos via Collaborate application share but it is possible. You can use Chrome to share audio and video however the frame-rate may become distorted due to bandwidth. Video links can be provided in the chat for students to watch. You also need to be mindful of copyright implications.
The number of sessions within a subject site is unlimited and the system is presently quite stable.
Participants have access to the chat so there is no need to change the tutor’s status to allow them to moderate the chat. However, if the tutor is required to monitor private chats, their status will need to be promoted to ‘Moderator’.
Yes you will lose chat history as it only shows you the chat messages from the time you join.
By default yes, however you can adjust the settings when you create a session. When you create a session, open Session Settings and under Private Chat check 'Participants can only chat privately with moderators'.
If students are having trouble with Collaborate during your session you can direct them to Collaborate Troubleshooting and announce recording of the session so they do not miss out. Remember to let everyone know before recording, go over the Collaborate Protocols for advice on what to say when recording.
You can also 'Report an Issue' while in your Collaborate session.
Yes, as long as you set it up in the session settings before it has been recorded.
Links to recorded Collaborate sessions can be shared out to people outside of JCU, anyone who has the link can access them.
If you are sharing sensitive information but need to capture student participation, you can record in Collaborate, download the recording, upload it into Mediasite and then add the video using the 'Content Market' feature in LearnJCU subjects.
After breakout groups are started you can move between groups to monitor the students. If you assign yourself to a group, you see and hear what they are doing in their group. This includes any shared content, audio, video, and chat.
Yes all members of the group can see who the other group participants are while in the group.
No they can't. What is said or viewed in a breakout room isn't captured in recordings. Also, Collaborate recordings stop in the main session if all attendees leave the main room to join breakout groups.
Yes, you can share files with one or more breakout group.
No, the main screen is not visible in a breakout group.
Not currently, as the timer feature has been removed.
Yes, breakout groups are designed for group collaboration. Every attendee in the group is a Presenter. This means that all attendees can share the whiteboard, files, and applications with the rest of their group.
You can create up to 20 groups. Breakout groups are only available in sessions with 250 or fewer attendees. There is no limit to the number of attendees you can put in each group. However, we recommend spreading attendees evenly over your groups.
Click the three-dots-icon (…) next to Subject Room and go to View all sessions, select Create sessions to create new sessions and set up accordingly.
You can place the guest link into content area in LearnJCU for students to access. Please note that in this case the name of the participant is not passed through from the subject, therefore compromising attendance reporting.