JCU Library Building Award

Library Entrance

In 2006, the JCU Library Building on the Douglas Campus received the 25 Year Architecture Award presented by the Royal Australian Institute of Architects - Queensland Chapter.

Stage 1 of the library building was completed in 1968 by architect James Birrell. Stage II was completed in 1976 and an extension was completed in 1990. The 3 storey, 10,460 sq m building is currently home to the University's main library and to the teaching and learning development unit. In 2005, James Birrell won Australia's most prestigious architectural prize - the Royal Australian Institute of Architects Gold Medal.

The Douglas Library is an architectural icon. Designed in the Brutalist architectural style of the late 1960s, it is a building that made brilliant use of reinforced concrete to achieve an outstanding aesthetic result.

On 21st May 2008, James Cook University in honour of Eddie Koiki Mabo named its Townsville Campus Library the Eddie Koiki Mabo Library.

More information including pictures of the JCU Library and the architect's vision are available at the architecture.com.au projects gallery

The 1992 Extension

Building Extension,1992

The original 1968 building

The Original Building,1968