CRRH About Us

About Us

The Centre for Rural and Remote Health is a University Department of Rural Health (UDRH), one of a national network of fifteen across Australia.

The Centre was initially established to operate within Queensland Health under contract to the Commonwealth Department of Health and Aged Care's UDRH program. In January 2001 the CRRH became incorporated into James Cook University as a part of the Faculty of Medicine Health and Molecular Sciences and is currently under the Division of Tropical Health and Medicine (DTHM).

Our History

The Centre's founding Director, Dr Dennis Pashen was appointed to the position of Director in August of 1997, with Dr Elizabeth Chalmers being appointed to the Deputy Director position in November of the same year. Professor Sabina Knight took up the reins of Director in February 2011.

The Centre currently has a staff of approx. 30 across education and research academia, administration and IT, including staff at our regional sites of Longreach, Cloncurry and Weipa.

Our Traditional Owners

We acknowledge the Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples as the Traditional Owners of the lands and waters where we operate our business. We honour the unique cultural and spiritual relationship to the land, waters and seas of First Australian peoples and their continuing and rich contribution to James Cook University (JCU) and Australian society. We also pay respect to ancestors and Elders past, present and future.

The Centre for Rural and Remote Health (CRRH) supports JCU's Reconciliation Action Plan. Located on the campuses of the North West and Central West Hospital and Health Services, and the Cloncurry Shire Council, CRRH partners with and leads health services, practices and practitioners to build a sustainable health workforce in and for outback Queensland.