Outback QLD

MICRRH Home Outback QLD

About Outback Queensland

About MICRRH’s Region

MICRRH works throughout most of North West and Central West Queensland.

The regions are more than 600,000 km2 in size, which is 37% of Queensland. There are 14 local government areas, and a population of 45,112, of which 18.9% identify as Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander compared to Queensland’s 3.6% (2011 Census).

 MICRRH's Footprint in Outback Qld

 North West Queensland (NWQ)

The NWQ Region extends along the Queensland/Northern Territory Border, from the Gulf of Carpentaria in the North, to Julia Creek in the East, and Urandangi and Dajarra in the South. Known as the “Gulf Country”, the landscape varies greatly, from woodland and savannah to coastal and rainforest habitats. The main industry is mining, due to great mineral wealth of zinc, lead, silver and copper. The cattle grazing industry is also significant. The sheep industry played a major part in the development of NWQ towns, however this has declined since the 1990’s after the wool price crash. The fishing industry is significant at towns in the Gulf of Carpentaria.

Central West Queensland (CWQ)

The CWQ Region extends along the Queensland/Northern Territory & South Australian borders, from Corfield in the North, to Alpha in the East, and Windorah & Tambo in the South. Known as “Channel Country”, the CWQ region’s main industry is agriculture, including both cattle and sheep grazing.  The forestry industry is also significant. Parts of CWQ are located in the Cooper Basin, Australia’s largest natural gas and on-shore petroleum deposit. Most of the region forms the Great Artesian Basin, and after significant rainfall events water flows to Lake Eyre in South Australia.