Featured News Students shine at annual Indigenous Student Awards night

Media Releases

Fri, 14 Sep 2018

Students shine at annual Indigenous Student Awards night

27 Indigenous students have been honoured at James Cook University’s annual Indigenous Undergraduate Student Awards night.

The awards acknowledge and celebrate the efforts that JCU’s Indigenous students make to succeed in their higher education studies.

Academic awards were presented to students according to discipline, including the Diploma of Higher Education, and two ‘Spirit’ awards were presented to students who have shown exceptional strength and resilience to overcome setbacks and persist with their studies.

Professor Martin Nakata, Pro Vice Chancellor of Indigenous Education and Strategy said the awards are about recognising and rewarding students who are succeeding, and to encourage others to persist with their studies.

“The awards night provides a showcase to inspire Indigenous students and members of the community,” he said.

“They showcase just what Indigenous students can achieve, given the opportunity and support to do so.”

The awards were hosted by the Indigenous Education and Research Centre at JCU, which provides personal and academic support to Indigenous students to help them achieve their full potential and achieve their goals to graduate.

List of winners: 

College of Arts, Society and Education 

Jean-Paul Klein (Cairns) – Bachelor of Arts

Tracey Hough (Townsville) – Bachelor of Arts

Patricia Poole (Cairns) – Bachelor of Creative Industries

Dwayne Ormiston (Cairns) – Bachelor of Education (Primary)

Katrina Baker (External) – Bachelor of Education (Primary)

College of Business, Law and Governance

Max McLachlan (Cairns) – Bachelor of Business

Ariana De Satge (Townsville) – Bachelor of Business

Bujimulla Yanner (Cairns) – Bachelor of Laws

Kylie Arlidge (Cairns) – Bachelor of Laws

College of Science and Engineering

Kyle Walker (Townsville) – Bachelor of Planning

Cassie Tregea (Cairns) – Bachelor of Planning

Craig Doudle (Cairns) – Bachelor of Science

Tiana O'Brien (Townsville) – Bachelor of Science

College of Healthcare Sciences 

Jefferson Mobbs (Cairns) – Bachelor of Exercise Physiology

Telisha Peck (Townsville) – Bachelor of Physiotherapy

David Sheldon (Townsville) – Bachelor of Nursing Science

Clarissa Marrinan (Townsville) – Bachelor of Nursing Science – Bachelor of Midwifery

Mark Patching (Cairns) - Bachelor of Psychological Science

Maddison Sivyer (Cairns) - Bachelor of Psychological Science

College of Medicine and Dentistry

Sapphire Watkinson (Townsville) – Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery

Sarah Burrell (Townsville) – Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery

College of Public Health, Medical and Veterinary Sciences

Paul Baker (Townsville) - Bachelor of Medical Laboratory Science

Nicole Quinn (Townsville) - Bachelor of Veterinary Science

Diploma of Higher Education

Thomas Wallis (Townsville) – Information Technology

Kimberly Emme (Townsville) – General Studies

Spirit Award

Leeann Page (Cairns) – Bachelor of Nursing Science

Wariba Seriat (Townsville) – Bachelor of Education (Primary)