JCU Prizes Browse all prizes Chris Alexander Memorial Prize A

Chris Alexander Memorial Prizes for Marine Biology (Prize A)

History of the prize

This prize was founded in 2009 by the family, colleagues, friends and former students of the late Associate Professor Christopher G Alexander (Doc Alex), to honour his contribution to teaching and research in marine biology and in acknowledgement of his services and achievements as foundation staff member in the Department of Marine Biology at James Cook University.

A/Prof Alexander had an unparalleled commitment to student academic welfare and a boundless enthusiasm for marine invertebrate research. The prize is awarded to the student enrolled in the Bachelor of Science degree majoring in Marine Biology or Marine Biology (Advanced) who has demonstrated outstanding performance and overall ability in level 2 Marine Biology subjects and who has obtained an excellent mark in an invertebrate biology subject.


Chris Alexander Prizes

Prize Information

Awarded to the Bachelor of Science or the Bachelor of Advanced Science student enrolled in the Marine Biology major,  who has obtained the highest overall result in a Level 2 Invertebrate Biology subject.


2023 - Mitchell David Heide

2022 - Izetta Monica Clark

2021 - Teale Anet Asha McMahon

2020 - Lucas Leo Lutzenkirchen

2019 - Kathy Lisa Connellan

2018 - Matthew Gerard Connors

2017 - Julia Mayr