JCU Prizes Browse all prizes Dr. Will Cairns Prize Medicine

Dr. Will Cairns Palliative Care Essay Prize Medicine

History of the prize

The donation is to promote the awareness of Palliative Care in 6th year Medical Students. The donor is the Palliative Care Trust Fund which is made up from donations from previous relatives and patients that have used the Palliative Care Centre. The funds are aimed at promoting Palliative Care for the benefit of future patients that need a palliative approach to care.


Palliative Care Services

Prize Information

Awarded to the graduating Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery student who has achieved the best overall performance in the Palliative care essay.


2023 - Brielle Madison Daly

2022 - Miki Matsueda

2021 - William Mackinnon Stockley

2020 - Philippa Clare Collins

2019 - Max John Peters

2018 - Alice Elizabeth Vincent, Faizy Kakkat & Anjani Prasad