JCU Prizes Browse all prizes Emeritus Professor Barbara Hayes Medallion

Emeritus Professor Barbara Hayes Medallion

Townsville Hospital Foundation

History of the prize

This prize was founded in 2014 in memory of Emeritus Professor Barbara Hayes, who advanced nursing and midwifery as a true science of caring. Maintained with donations from friends and colleagues of the Brighter Lives Townsville Hospital Foundation. The prize is awarded to the graduate who has achieved the best overall performance in the Bachelor of Nursing Science Bachelor of Midwifery course as assessed by the course coordinator in liaison with the subject coordinators. The recipient must have a high course GPA and have demonstrated outstanding skills in clinical practice.


Brighter Lives Townsville Hospital Foundation

Prize Information

Awarded to the graduating Bachelor of Nursing Science, Bachelor of Midwifery student who achieved the highest overall result in the course and demonstrated outstanding skills in clinical practice throughout their studies.

An engraved crystal medallion

2023 - Makayla Ruth Killick

2022 - Kira Leigh Teare

2021 - Lauren Mareer Deon

2020 - Jenna Amy Evans

2019 - Leeanne Daphne Honnef

2018 - Clarissa Aimee Marrinan

2017 - Jade Elizabeth Meehan