TESS seminars feature international, Australian, and local JCU researchers whose work falls within Tropical Environmental and Sustainability Sciences. Speakers are typically established or postdoctoral researchers.

  • Where: Cairns Institute D3.054 in Cairns, video-linked to ATSIP 145-030 Townsville
  • When:   4 - 5pm on the advertised date, followed by drinks and nibbles
  • Who:     All welcome!

If you are hosting a visitor or would like to give a seminar, please contact the seminar coordinator, Dr Lori Lach by email to Lori.Lach@jcu.edu.au.

TESS postgraduate students are encouraged to present at the annual TESS retreat.

Next seminar

Photo of Stephen Potts

Reform of Queensland’s Biodiscovery Act

Wednesday, 25 July 2018 | Presented by Stephen Potts| acting Director of Science Policy and Evaluation Services in the Department of Environment and Science, Qld Government.

The Queensland Government released a review of Queensland’s biodiscovery laws in April 2018, and invited feedback from stakeholders about the recommendations and opportunities for reform. The Biodiscovery Act 2004 regulates the take and use of native biological material collected from State land or Queensland waters for the purpose of biodiscovery. The presentation will detail some of the key issues raised during the review and subsequent consultation, the next steps in the reform process, and what it all means for scientific research and commercialisation in Queensland.

Coming up

Abstract and session details to follow

Seminar 14

Wednesday, 1 August 2018

Photo of Manu Saunders

Pollinators, pests and predators: complex interactions and communication challenges

Wednesday, 8 August 2018| Presented by Manu E. Saunders| University of New England, Armidale

B-Mackey

Seminar 16

Wednesday, 15 August 2018 | Presented by Brendan Mackey|Director, Griffith Climate Change Response Program

Seminar 17

Wednesday, 22 August 2018

Seminar 18

Wednesday, 29 August 2018

A Balmford

Seminar 19

Wednesday, 5 September 2018 | Presented by Andrew Balmford|Conservation of Science, University of Cambridge

Seminar 20

Wednesday, 12 September 2018

Seminar 21

Wednesday, 19 September 2018** Note Townsville venue changed for this week only:  025-001**

M Barbour

Seminar 22

Wednesday, 3 October 2018 | Presented by Margaret Barbour|University of Sydney, School of Life and Environmental Sciences

Seminar 23

Wednesday, 10 October 2018

Seminar 24

Wednesday, 17 October 2018

Seminar 25

Wednesday, 24 October 2018