Herbarium Staff

Prof. Darren Crayn

Professor and Director, Australian Tropical Herbarium

darren.crayn@jcu.edu.au

Office: E2.118J, Sir Robert Norman Building (E2), James Cook University
Mail: PO Box 6811, Cairns QLD 4870
Research Portal: https://research.jcu.edu.au/portfolio/darren.crayn

Mine and my group’s research is in the field of plant systematics and evolution and deals broadly with the questions: how many plant species are there in tropical Australia and the region, how are they related and how have they evolved? We use …

More Details

Dr. Eda Addicott

Principal Botanist

eda.addicott@des.qld.gov.au

Office: E2.118I, Sir Robert Norman Building (E2), James Cook University
Mail: PO Box 6811, Cairns, QLD 4870

More Details

Peter J. Bannink

Senior Computer Support Officer (GIS support)

peter.bannink@.des.qld.gov.au

Office: Centre of Tropical Agriculture, 28 Peters Street Mareeba

More Details

Dr. Matt Barrett

Postdoctoral Fellow

matt.barrett@jcu.edu.au

Office:  E2.203, Sir Robert Normal Building (E2), James Cook University
Mail: PO Box 6811, Cairns, QLD 4870

More Details

Kaylene Bransgrove

PhD candidate

kaylene.bransgrove@my.jcu.edu.au

Office: E2.203A, Sir Robert Norman Building (E2), James Cook University
Mail: PO Box 6811, Smithfield  QLD  4878

My research interests are in taxonomy, systematics, biogeography of fungi and plants. I am especially interested in the fungal-host interactions and host specificity.

More Details

Dr. Charles Clarke

ATH Adjunct Researcher

More Details

Dr. Ashley Field

Senior Botanist

ashley.field@jcu.edu.au

Office: E2.203G, Sir Robert Norman Building (E2), James Cook University
Mail: PO Box 6811, Cairns QLD 4870

My research program investigates the evolution, systematics, niche-specialisation, rarity conservation biology and extinction in ferns, lycophytes and vascular epiphytes in the Wet Tropics, Australia. My primary research focus is on aspects of the ev…

More Details

Robyn Fortune

PA to Director, General enquiries

robyn.fortune@jcu.edu.au

Office: E2.118, Sir Robert Norman Building (E2), James Cook University
Mail: PO Box 6811, Cairns QLD 4870

More Details

Janet Gagul

PhD candidate

janet.gagul@my.jcu.edu.au

Office: E2.203A, Sir Robert Norman Building (E2), James Cook University
Mail: PO Box 6811, Cairns QLD 4870

More Details

Melissa Harrison

Laboratory Manager

melissa.harrison@jcu.edu.au

Office: E2.118G, Sir Robert Norman Building (E2), James Cook University
Mail: PO Box 6811, Cairns QLD 4870

More Details
Photo of Lizzy Joyce

Lizzy Joyce

PhD candidate

lizzy.joyce@my.jcu.edu.au

Daniel Montesinos

Senior Research Fellow

daniel.montesinos@jcu.edu.au

Office: E2.204, Sir Robert Norman Building (E2), James Cook University
Mail: PO Box 6811, Cairns, QLD 4870s

I am broadly interested in the evolutionary ecology of plants. My main focus of research is on the rapid evolution of locally adapted traits of invasive species across large biogeographical regions, with a special focus on reproduction, reproductive …

More Details

Dr. Katharina Nargar

CSIRO Research Scientist

katharina.nargar@csiro.au

Office: E2.202B, Sir Robert Norman Building (E2), James Cook University
Mail: PO Box 6811, Cairns QLD 4870

More Details

Dr. Lars Nauheimer

ATH Postdoctoral Research Fellow

lars.nauheimer@jcu.edu.au

Office: Building E2, Room 210A Australian Tropical Herbarium, James Cook University Cairns Campus
Mail: PO Box 6811, Cairns QLD 4870

More Details

Mark Newton

Senior Technical Officer

mark.newton@dsiti.qld.gov.au

Office: E2.118G, Sir Robert Norman Building (E2), James Cook University
Mail: PO Box 6811, Cairns QLD 4870

More Details
Photo of Dale Perkins

Dale Perkins

Honours Student

dale.perkins@my.jcu.edu.au

Rismita Sari

PhD candidate

rismita.sari@my.jcu.edu.au

Office: E2.203A, Sir Robert Norman Building (E2), James Cook University
Mail: PO Box 6811, Cairns QLD 4870

More Details

Dr. Lalita Simpson

Research Officer

lalita.simpson@my.jcu.edu.au

Office: E2.203A, Sir Robert Norman Building (E2), James Cook University
Mail: PO Box 6811, Cairns QLD 4870

My research interests lie in the fields of plant evolution, biodiversity, phylogeography and systematics. My research focuses on the phylogeography of Australian orchid groups where I use molecular data to investigate phylogenetic relationships inter…

More Details

Gerry Turpin

Ethnobotanist

gerry.turpin@des.qld.gov.au

Office: E2.108C, Sir Robert Norman Building (E2), James Cook University
Mail: PO Box 6811, Cairns QLD 4870

More Details

Fanie Venter

Postdoctoral Fellow

fanie.venter@jcu.edu.au

My research focuses on the systematics of selected genera in the Asparagaceae, Ericaceae and Rubiaceae, plant functional traits and vegetation ecology of New Guinea and its off-shore islands.

More Details

Stuart Worboys

Botanist/Project Officer

stuart.worboys@jcu.edu.au

Office: E2.118G, Sir Robert Norman Building (E2), James Cook University, Cairns Campus
Mail: PO Box 6811, Cairns QLD 4870

My main research interests are in the ecology and biodiversity of the mountain flora of the Wet Tropics. Much of my work is involved with planning and leading expeditions to the high peaks of the Wet Tropics bioregion. The aim of these expeditions is…

More Details

Frank Zich

Collections Manager

frank.zich@csiro.au

Phone:

+61 (0)7 4059 5014 (office); +61 (0)7 4232 1818 (collection room)

Office: E2.118, Sir Robert Norman Building (E2), James Cook University
Mail: PO Box 6811, Cairns QLD 4870

More Details