Colin Roderick Award

Colin Roderick Award

The Colin Roderick Award is one of Australia's oldest literary awards, founded in 1967 by Professor Colin Roderick. After Professor Roderick's death in 2000, the award was renamed in his memory. The Foundation for Australian Literary Studies presents the annual award to the value of $20,000, coupled with the silver H.T. Priestley Memorial Medal.

The award and medal are presented to the best original book, in the judges' opinion, that is published in Australia in the previous calendar year. Submissions must deal with any aspect of Australian life and can be in any field or genre of writing, verse or prose.

Books published from 1 January 2017 - 31 December 2017 are eligible for submission into the 2018 award.

Nominations for this award have now closed.

Josephine Wilson's novel 'Extinctions' was announced as the 2017 Colin Roderick Award winner on 30th October 2017.

The following 2017 shortlist was chosen from more than 150 nominations. The Foundation would like to thank all nominees for their interest in the Award.