Other Winners

The Colin Roderick Memorial Award is presented by the Foundation for Australian Literary Studies Ltd each year at the Foundation's Annual Dinner which is normally held in October the year after publication.

Recipients of the Colin Roderick Award since its inception in 1967:

2023: Sarah Holland-Batt, The Jaguar (University of Queensland Press)
2022: Emily Bitto, Wild Abandon (Allen & Unwin)
2021: Sophie Laguna, Infinite Splendours (Allen & Unwin Book Publishers)
2020 Sally Young, Paper Emperors: The Rise of Australia's Newspaper Empires (NewSouth Publishing)

2019 Robert Drewe The True Colour of the Sea (Penguin Publishing)
2018 Jock Serong On The Java Ridge (Text Publishing)
2017 Josephine Wilson, Extinctions (UWA Publishing)
2016 Gail Jones, A Guide to Berlin (Penguin Books)
2014 Michael Wilding, Wild Bleak Bohemia
2013 Ashley Hay, The Railwayman’s Wife and Stephen Edgar, Eldershaw
2012 Thomas Keneally,The Daughters of Mars
2011 Gillian Mears, Foal’s Bread
2010 Karen Kissane, Worst of Days: Inside the Black Saturday Firestorm

2009 Michael Cathcart, The Water Dreamers
2008 Graham Freudenberg, Churchill and Australia and James Boyce, Van Diemen’s Land
2007 Malcolm Knox, Jamaica
2006 Deborah Robertson, Careless
2005 Peter Temple, The Broken Shore
2004 Alan Wearne, The Lovemakers Book Two: Money and nothing and Tim Winton, The Turning
2003 Tom Keneally, The Tyrant’s Novel
2002 Don Watson, Recollections of a Bleeding Heart: A Portrait of Paul Keating PM
2001 Peter Rose, Rose boys
2000 Peter Carey, True History of the Kelly Gang
1999 Christopher Koch, Out of Ireland
1998 Robert Dessaix, (and so forth)
1997 Peter Edwards, A Nation at War
1996 Tim Flannery, Alex Szalay, Roger Martin and Peter Schouten, Tree Kangaroos
1995 Judy Cassab, Diaries
1994 Patrick Buckridge, The Scandalous Penton: A Biography of Brian Penton
1993 Cassandra Pybus, Gross Moral Turpitude: The Orr Case Reconsidered
1992 Ruth Park, A Fence Around the Cuckoo
1991 Joan Dugdale, Struggle of Memory
1990 Roland Griffiths-Marsh, Sixpenny Soldier
1989 Chris Symons, John Bishop: A Life for Music
1988 Peter Carey, Oscar and Lucinda
1987 Nancy Phelan, Home is the Sailor and The Best of Intentions
1986 Fr Tom Boland, James Duhig
1985 John Gunn, The Defeat of Distance: Qantas 1919-1939
1984 Alan Gould, The Man Who Stayed Below
1983 Dudley McCarthy, Gallipoli to the Somme
1982 Geoffrey Serle, John Monash: A Biography
1981 Gavin Souter, A Company of Heralds
1980 Allan Grocott, Convicts, Clergymen and Churches
1979 Thea Astley, Hunting the Wild Pineapple
1978 Leslie Rees, History of Australian Drama
1977 Alan Marshall, The Complete Stories of Alan Marshall
1976 Gavin Souter, Lion and Kangaroo
1975 Denis Murphy, T.J. Ryan
1974 David Malouf, Neighbours in a Thicket
1973 Dorothy Green, Ulysses Bound
1972 Sir Keith Hancock, Discovering Monaro
1971 Geoffrey Serle, The Rush to be Rich
1970 Margaret Lawrie, Myths and Legends of Torres Strait
1969 Francis Webb, Collected Poems
1968 Gavin Souter, A Peculiar People
1967 Douglas Stewart, Collected Poems, 1936-1967