Dr Sue Meek

2010 College Recipient, College of Science and Engineering

As Principal of Sue Meek & Associates, Dr Sue Meek AO FTSE FAICD aims to apply over 35 years of experience in science communication, advocacy and policy development, and expertise in research administration, commercialisation and regulation to the benefit of institutions, organisations and the community.

Dr Meek chose James Cook University to undertake her PhD on coral growth and regeneration from her birthplace in England because it was the nearest one to the Great Barrier Reef.   As a keen SCUBA diver her intention was to do as much warm water diving as possible while completing her studies and then return to Europe. However, she quickly became a convert to Australia and decided to stay permanently.

After the award of her doctorate in 1982, the first to be jointly supervised between the Australian Institute of Marine Science and JCU, she decided to focus upon the application of research rather than its conduct. Since than Dr Meek has held a range of positions in industry and government and been appointed to numerous boards and advisory committees of organisations involved in research and development.

While her industry roles focussed on technology assessment and commercialisation, in government she had responsibility for developing and implementing policies and programs to stimulate the conduct and appropriate application of research and development, and promote public understanding of science and technology.

In 2001 Dr Meek was appointed as Australia’s inaugural Gene Technology Regulator to administer and enforce the national regulatory system for the development and use of gene technology. From 2008 to 2016 she was the Chief Executive of the Australian Academy of Science, a national body established to champion, celebrate and support scientific excellence.

Dr Meek became a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors in 1990, was elected to the Academy of Technology and Engineering in 2005, awarded an  Order of Australia for services to science  in 2012 and appointed as an Honorary Professor at the Australian National University in 2016.

Updated April 2023