JCU's Research Leaders

JCU is Australia's leading research university with a focus on the tropics.  Our world renowned research leaders are highly recognised and have made and continue to make an exceptional contribution to their field or discipline.

Distinguished Professors

Tropical Leaders

JCU is a world class, research intensive institution located in a unique place in the world. Our regional setting connects us to our communities and commits us to delivering discoveries and graduates that make a sustainable difference to life in the tropics worldwide.

As part of this commitment to a brighter future, in late 2008 JCU launched a national and international search for top-flight researchers. This initiative will build on our growing base of research leaders and cement our reputation as a world leading university for the tropics.

Australian Research Council Laureate Fellows

The Australian Laureate Fellowships Scheme reflects the Commonwealth’s commitment to support excellence in research by attracting world-class researchers and research leaders to key positions, and creating new rewards and incentives for the application of their talents in Australia.

NHMRC Fellowship Awardees

An NHMRC Research Fellowship is a five year fellowship supporting leading health and medical researchers in full-time research. The scheme fosters an intellectual environment which supports and builds the capacity of Australian research for the future and in so doing, creates knowledge through investment in research which improves health and thus contributes to Australia’s prosperity.

Queensland Health Senior Clinical Research Fellows

Queensland Health offers funding for five years to attract and retain researchers to Queensland who are international leaders in their field.