Our Training Network

Integrated and embedded in our communities

JCU’s network extends across regional, rural and remote Queensland, with hands-on training opportunities for clinical placements in underserved communities.

JCU partners with hospital and health services, primary and allied health care clinics, and Aboriginal Medical Services to ensure students, registrars and specialists across the health disciplines have extensive rural experience in communities that need them most.

The Australian Government Department of Health’s Rural Health Multidisciplinary Training (RHMT) program has enhanced the University’s ability to train health professionals in, with and for communities. The funding powers the University’s nine Rural Health Sites, dotted across the state in areas of need. They can be found in Thursday Island, Weipa, Mount Isa, Cloncurry, Longreach and Atherton, with larger Clinical Schools in Cairns, Townsville and Mackay.

Added to this is the Regional Training Hubs initiative established as a component of the Integrated Rural Training Pipeline for Medicine. This funding has allowed JCU to strengthen its partnership with hospital and health services in northern Queensland through the creation of Northern Queensland Regional Training Hubs (NQRTH). Through NQRTH we provide an integrated pathway connecting medical students and junior doctors with opportunities to train as specialists in Cairns, Central West, Mackay, North West, Torres and Cape, and Townsville.

Another critical component of the medical training network is the Australian General Practice Training program which enabled the expansion of our footprint through the JCU General Practice program to include 13 regional training offices from the Sunshine Coast to Thursday Island with more than 360 accredited GP training practices.

MRHM Combined Training Region Map

JCU Medicine, JCU GP Training, NQRTH and Hospital and Health Services Training region