The College of Public Health, Medical & Veterinary Sciences is comprised of four academic groups, Biomedicine, Molecular & Cell Biology, Public Health & Tropical Medicine and Veterinary Sciences. Maxine Whittaker is the Dean of the College and with the advice and support form the Associate Deans they guide the direction of the College and its strategic initiatives.


Professor Maxine Whittaker, MBBS,  MPH , PhD, FAFPHM is the Dean of the College of Public Health, Medical & Veterinary Sciences and Deputy Director of the Australian Institute of Tropical Health and Medicine (AITHM) at James Cook University (Feb 2016),

She was previously (2008-2016) Professor of International and Tropical Health and Co-Director of the WHO Collaborating Centre on Health Information Systems, Director of the Health Information Systems Knowledge Hub, Program Director of the Australian Initiative on Control and Elimination of Malaria/Pacific Malaria Initiative Support Centre and co-Secretariat of the Asia Pacific Malaria Elimination Network.

Maxine Whittaker research interests are in fields of operational and health services research and medical anthropology, with a primary focus on sexual and reproductive health, health seeking behaviour and quality of care. She has a special interest in the issue of scaling-up pilot programs into policy and practice, and as a founding member of Expandnet has contributed to a body of work published by WHO on this topic. She is presently leading the Malaria Elimination Research Agenda work on social sciences and co-chairing the Health Systems panel and is recognized as one of the leaders in re-invigorating social sciences and community participation in the malaria research agenda.

Since 2009 has been CI on research and project grants in the Asia Pacific region worth more than $A42.5 million including several from DFAT published more than 70 peer reviewed publications, and several project documents for development partners and countries, policy briefings, briefing papers, book chapters and commissioned papers.

The office of the Dean can be contacted through the team email alias - deancphmvs@jcu.edu.au

Associate Deans

Learning and Teaching
A/Prof Suzanne Munns and Dr Kris McBain-Rigg

The Associate Dean, Learning & Teaching is responsible for the development and promotion of a learning and teaching culture committed to excellence and innovation and a positive student experience across the College

The Associate Deans of Research is responsible for the strategic and regulatory leadership of research in the College

Research and Education
A/Prof Kerrianne Watt

The Associate Dean Research Education (ADRE) is responsible for the regulatory leadership of research in the College.