Our people

Welcome to our staff page! Here you can see who you'll be connecting with during your university journey. Our people have years of experience and expertise and are here to assist you whether you need help with enrolments, finances, your living arrangements or just to have a yarn. You can call or email us, or simply pop in for a visit. Click on the below sections to see our amazing staff.

IERC staff

Caption: JCU IERC staff at the National Indigenous Learning Support Conference (2023)

Meet our staff

Professor Marting Nakata

Professor Martin Nakata
Deputy Vice Chancellor, Indigenous Education and Strategy

E: dvcies@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 5212
View research profile

Manola Chong

Manola Chong
Manager, Centre Operations, Townsville

E: manola.chong@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 5212

Emma Iwikau

Emma Iwikau
Indigenous Student Programs Coordinator, Townsville

E: ierc.programs@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 4778

Antonja Peachey

Antonja Peachey
Administration and Programs Officer, Townsville

E: antonja.peachey@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 5986

Jayda William

Jayda William
Administrative Officer, Townsville

E: jayda.william@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 4676

Daan Felton-Busch

Johanna Loban
Administrative Assistant, Cairns

E: johanna.loban@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4212 1046

Andrea Geary

Andrea Geary
Indigenous Academic Support Advisor, Townsville

E: ierc.studentsupport@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 5875

Tupoa Guligo

Tupoa Guligo
Indigenous Student Support Advisor, Townsville

E: ierc.studentsupport@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 3832

Kirby Brennan

Kirby Brennan
Indigenous Academic Support Advisor, Townsville

E: ierc.studentsupport@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 5871

Karen Ives

Karen Ives
Indigenous Academic Support Advisor, Townsville

E: ierc.studentsupport@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 5791

Pauline Thomas

Pauline Thomas
Indigenous Academic Support Advisor, Townsville

E: ierc.studentsupport@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 5366

Eddie Savage

Eddie Savage
Indigenous Student Support Advisor, Townsville

E: ierc.studentsupport@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 4645

Lyn Munns

Lyn Munns
Indigenous Student Support Advisor, Townsville

E: ierc.studentsupport@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 5829

Marita Milller

Marita Miller
Indigenous Student Support Advisor, Townsville

E: ierc.studentsupport@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 3804

Kelly Atkinson

Kelly Atkinson
Indigenous Student Support Advisor, Townsville

E: ierc.studentsupport@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 5871

Leah Hammett

Leah Hammett
Manager, Indigenous Student Support Programs, Cairns

E: leah.hammett@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4232 1030

Deann Grant

Deann Grant
Indigenous Academic Support Advisor, Cairns

E: ierc.studentsupport@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4232 1122

Melissa Mallie

Melissa Mallie
Indigenous Academic Support Advisor, Cairns

E: ierc.studentsupport@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4232 1469

Mahalia Nelson

Mahalia Nelson
Indigenous Student Support Advisor, Cairns

E: ierc.studentsupport@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4232 1038

Crystal Stanley

Crystal Stanley
Indigenous Student Support Advisor, Cairns

E: ierc.studentsupport@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4232 1217

Dr Allie McDowall

Dr Ailie McDowall
Senior Lecturer, Townsville

E: ailie.mcdowall@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 5873
View research profile

Dr Dianna Hardy

Dr Dianna Hardy
Senior Lecturer & HDR Advisor, Townsville

E: dianna.hardy@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 6240
View research profile

Jessica Muller

Jessica Muller
Research Academic, Townsville

E: jessica.muller@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 5054

Associate Professor Felecia Watkin

Associate Professor Felecia Watkin
HDR Advisor, Cairns

E: felecia.watkin@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4232 1877
View research profile

Dr Vincent Backhaus

Dr Vincent Backhaus
HDR Advisor, Cairns

E: vincent.backhaus@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4232 1889
View research profile

Dr Kyly Mills

Dr Kyly Mills
Lecturer, Cairns

E: kyly.mills@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4232 1874
View research profile 

Associate Professor Sana Nakata

Associate Professor Sana Nakata
Principal Research Fellow

E: sana.nakata@jcu.edu.au
View research profile

Associate Professor Marlene Longbottom

Associate Professor Marlene Longbottom
Principal Research Fellow (DAATSI Award)

E: marlene.longbottom@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4232 1766
View research profile

Dr Hamza bin Jehangir

Dr Hamza bin Jehangir
Research Fellow, Knowledge Interface Specialist

E: hamzabin.jehangir@jcu.edu.au
View research profile 

Danielle Vervenne

Danielle Vervenne
Curriculum Developer, Townsville

E: danielle.vervenne@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 4530

Jermaine Chong

Jermaine Chong
Research Assistant, Townsville

E: jermaine.chong@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 4947

Kerri Hill

Kerri Hill
Curriculum Development Officer

E: kerri.hill@jcu.edu.au

Rikka Eastaughffe-Young

Rikka Eastaughffe-Young
Curriculum Development Officer, Townsville

E: rikka.eastaughffe@jcu.edu.au

Geoff Lui

Geoff Lui
Senior Project Officer

E: geoff.lui@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 5054

Laura Kaye

Laura Kaye
Project Officer, Townsville

E: laura.kaye@jcu.edu.au
T: (07) 4781 4676