Health, Safety and Environment Contacts

General Email Enquiries

General Enquiriessafety@jcu.edu.au
Rehabilitationrehab@jcu.edu.au
Biosafetybiosafety@jcu.edu.au
Quarantine Import/Export Permitsimportpermit@jcu.edu.au
Training, Policy and Communicationshsetraining@jcu.edu.au
Health and Safety Representatives Programhsr@jcu.edu.au

Contact the Health, Safety and Environment Team

Cairns Campus

 

Kara Carless
Principal Technical Advisor

Phone (07) 4232 1219
kara.carless@jcu.edu.au

Room 137, Building A1

Kara is responsible for:

  • General work health and safety issues
  • Risk management
  • Incident and hazard management
  • Incident investigations
  • Auditing and inspections
  • Construction safety

Averil Hill
Support Officer

Phone (07) 4232 1591
Averil.Hill@jcu.edu.au

Room 137, Building A1

Averil is responsible for:

  • General work health and safety issues
  • Auditing and inspections
  • Hazard reduction and reporting
  • Minor incident investigations

Townsville Campus

Andrew Reddicliffe
Manager, Health Safety and Environment Unit 

Phone (07) 4781 5290
Mobile 0419 726 863
Andrew.Reddicliffe@jcu.edu.au

Room 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building

Andrew is responsible for:

  • General work health and safety issues
  • Risk management
  • Incident and hazard management
  • Incident investigations
  • Auditing and inspections
  • Construction safety
  • Safety Advisor for Boating and Diving Advisory Committee

Drew Kleier
Biological, Radiation and Chemicals Safety Advisor

Phone (07) 4781 3473
Drew.Kleier@jcu.edu.au

Room 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building

Drew is responsible for:

 

Vacant
Injury Prevention and Management Advisor

Phone (07) 4781 6182
rehab@jcu.edu.au

Room 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building

This role is responsible for providing advice, assistance and training with respect to:

  • Injury and illness management, including work and non-work related and UniSuper cases
  • Injury prevention, including ergonomic workstation assessments, job task analysis, manual handling training, risk assessments for hazardous manual tasks, bullying and harassment, health and well being and vaccinations

Michelle Nethery
Administrative Officer

Phone (07) 4781 6036
Michelle.Nethery@jcu.edu.au

Room 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building

Michelle is responsible for:

  • Records management
  • Team administration
  • Secretariat to HSEAC advisory committees
  • Health, Safety and Environment website maintenance
Raelene Fewquandie image 

Raelene Fewquandie
Training and Communications Advisor

Phone (07) 4781 14429
Raelene.Fewquandie@jcu.edu.au  

Room 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building

Raelene is responsible for:

  • Research, development and implementation of training, induction and communication methods
  • Co-ordination of design, implementation and delivery of all HSE training and inductions
  • Development and delivery of a communications program of events and publications
  • Investigate viability of a Learning Management System
 

Tania O'Hara
Systems Officer

Phone (07) 4781 6238
Tania.OHara@jcu.edu.au

Room 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building

Tania is responsible for:

  • Develop, implement and review Health and Safety Management System (HSMS) processes and documentation to align with JCU and Work Health and Safety statutory requirements
  • Consult with JCU stakeholders to implement HSMS and provide recommendations for improvement
 

Vacant
Support Officer

Phone (07) 4781 6277


Room 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building

Responsible for:

  • General work health and safety issues
  • Auditing and inspections
  • Hazard reduction and reporting
  • Minor incident investigations
Annette Quagliata
Support Officer (Emergency)

Phone (07) 4781 6038
Annette.Quagliata@jcu.edu.au

Room 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building 

Annette is responsible for:

  • Fire safety
  • First aid
  • Emergency capability
  • Auditing and inspections