Work Health and Safety Contacts

General Email Enquiries

General Enquiriessafety@jcu.edu.au
Rehabilitationrehab@jcu.edu.au
Biosafetybiosafety@jcu.edu.au
Quarantine Import/Export Permitsimportpermit@jcu.edu.au
Training, Policy and Communicationswhstraining@jcu.edu.au

Contact the Work Health and Safety Team

Cairns Campus

Photo of Kara Carless

Kara Carless

Principal Technical Advisor

kara.carless@jcu.edu.au

Room: 137, Building A1

Kara is responsible for:

  • Work health and safety issues
  • Risk management
  • Incident and hazard management
  • Incident investigations
  • Auditing and inspections
  • Construction safety

Photo of Ainui Patterson

Ainui Patterson

Support Officer

ainui.patterson@jcu.edu.au

Room: 137, Building A1

Ainui is responsible for:

  • General work health and safety issues
  • Auditing and inspections
  • Hazard reduction and reporting
  • Minor incident investigations

Townsville Campus

Photo of Andrew Reddicliffe

Andrew Reddicliffe

Manager, Work Health and Safety Unit

Andrew.Reddicliffe@jcu.edu.au

Room: 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building

Andrew is responsible for:

  • Work health and safety issues
  • Risk management
  • Incident and hazard management
  • Incident investigations
  • Auditing and inspections
  • Construction safety
  • Safety Advisor for Boating and Diving Advisory Committee

Photo of Drew Kleier

Drew Kleier

Biological, Radiation and Chemicals Safety Advisor

Drew.Kleier@jcu.edu.au

Room: 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building

Drew is responsible for:

Photo of Carlie Walker

Carlie Walker

Injury Prevention and Management Advisor

rehab@jcu.edu.au

Room: 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building

Carlie is responsible for providing advice, assistance and training with respect to:

  • Injury and illness management, including work and non-work related and UniSuper cases
  • Injury prevention, including ergonomic workstation assessments, job task analysis, manual handling training, risk assessments for hazardous manual tasks,health and well being and vaccination.

Photo of Michelle Nethery

Michelle Nethery

Administrative Officer

Michelle.Nethery@jcu.edu.au

Room: 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building

Michelle is responsible for:

  • Records management
  • Team administration
  • Secretariat to WHSAC advisory committees
  • Work Health and Safety website maintenance

Photo of Raelene Fewquandie

Raelene Fewquandie

Training and Communications Advisor

Raelene.Fewquandie@jcu.edu.au

Room: 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building

Raelene is responsible for:

  • Research, development and implementation of training, induction and communication methods
  • Co-ordination of design, implementation and delivery of all WHS training, including JCU WHS Mandatory training requirements
  • Review learning and development WHSneeds through conducting training needs analysis for staff
  • Development and delivery of a communications program of events and publications for WHS

Photo of Tania O'Hara

Tania O'Hara

WHS Safety Advisor, Controlled Entities

Tania.OHara@jcu.edu.au

Room: 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building

Tania is responsible for:

  • Research, advise, develop and or integrate, implement, monitor and continually improve the WHS Management Systems for JCU Controlled Entities in consultation with relevant stakeholders within each functional level.
  • Liaise with relevant stakeholders within JCU and JCU Controlled Entities to provide progress on continual improvement of WHS Management systems and ensure objectives and expectations of parties are met.

Photo of Sophia Burke

Sophia Burke

Support Officer

sophia.burke@jcu.edu.au

Room: 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building

Sophia is responsible for:

  • General work health and safety issues
  • Auditing and inspections
  • Hazard reduction and reporting
  • Minor incident investigations

Photo of Geoff Hueber

Geoff Hueber

Support Officer (Emergency)

geoff.hueber@jcu.edu.au

Room: 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building

Geoff is responsible for:

  • Fire safety
  • First aid
  • Emergency capability
  • Auditing and inspections