Health, Safety and Environment Contacts

General Email Enquiries  

General Enquiriessafety@jcu.edu.au
Rehabilitationrehab@jcu.edu.au
Biosafetybiosafety@jcu.edu.au
Quarantine Import/Export Permitsimportpermit@jcu.edu.au
Training, Policy and Communicationswhstraining@jcu.edu.au
Health and Safety Representatives Programhsr@jcu.edu.au

Contact the Health, Safety and Environment Team

Cairns Campus  

Chris Norriss
Work Health and Safety Advisor

Phone (07) 4232 1219
Mobile 0427 593 809
Chris.Norriss@jcu.edu.au

Room 019, Building A4                  

Chris is responsible for:                  

  • General work health and safety issues            
  • Risk management                      
  • Incident and hazard management                      
  • Incident investigations                      
  • Auditing and inspections                      
  • Construction safety                      

Averil Hill
Support Officer

Phone (07) 4232 1591
Mobile 0429 184 522
Averil.Hill@jcu.edu.au

Room 019, Building A4                  

Averil is responsible for:                  

  • General work health and safety issues                      
  • Auditing and inspections                      
  • Hazard reduction and reporting                      
  • Minor incident investigations                      

Townsville Campus  

Andrew Reddicliffe
Work Health and Safety Advisor

Phone (07) 4781 5290
Mobile 0419 726 863
Andrew.Reddicliffe@jcu.edu.au

Room 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building                  

Andrew is responsible for:                  

  • General work health and safety issues                      
  • Risk management                      
  • Incident and hazard management                      
  • Incident investigations                      
  • Auditing and inspections                      
  • Construction safety
  • Safety Advisor for Boating and Diving Advisory Committee

Drew Kleier
Biological, Radiation and Chemicals Safety Advisor

Phone (07) 4781 3473
Drew.Kleier@jcu.edu.au

Room 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building                  

Drew is responsible for:                  

Warren Orsmond
Injury Prevention and Management Advisor

Phone (07) 4781 6182
Warren.Orsmond@jcu.edu.au

Room 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building                    

Warren is responsible for providing advice, assistance and training with respect to:                  

  • Injury and illness management, including work and non-work related and UniSuper cases
  • Injury prevention, including ergonomic workstation assessments, job task analysis, manual handling training, risk assessments for hazardous manual tasks, bullying and harassment, health and well being and vaccinations                      

Michelle Nethery
Administrative Officer

Phone (07) 4781 6036
Michelle.Nethery@jcu.edu.au

Room 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building                  

Michelle is responsible for:                  

  • Records management                      
  • Team administration                      
  • Secretariat to advisory committees
  • Health, Safety and Environment website maintenance                      
  Vikki Young
Systems Officer

Phone (07) 4781 6238
Vikki.Young@jcu.edu.au

Room 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building

Vikki is responsible for:                  

  • Develop, implement and review Health and Safety Management System (HSMS) processes and documentation to align with JCU and Work Health and Safety statutory requirements            
  • Consult with JCU stakeholders to implement HSMS and provide recommendations for improvement            
 

Tania O'Hara
Project Officer

Phone (07) 4781 6104
Tania.OHara@jcu.edu.au

Room 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building          

Tania is responsible for:          

  • Developing and facilitating auditing activities for Controlled Entities and affiliated private colleges            
  • Facilitating and completing Health, Safety and Environment improvement projects            
  • Providing advice and strategic direction to JCU business units on health and safety matters            
  • Supporting Health, Safety and Environment business units by providing advice, reviewing practices and participating in Health, Safety and Environment activities            

Bec Part
Support Officer

Phone (07) 4781 6277
Mobile 0437 121 387
Bec.Part@jcu.edu.au

Room 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building                  

Bec is responisible for:                  

  • General work health and safety issues                      
  • Auditing and inspections                      
  • Hazard reduction and reporting                      
  • Minor incident investigations                      
Annette Quagliata
Support Officer (Emergency)

Phone (07) 4781 6038
Annette.Quagliata@jcu.edu.au

Room 220, Ken Back Chancellery Building 

Annette is responsible for:          

  • Fire safety  
  • First aid            
  • Emergency capability            
  • Auditing and inspections