First Year Experience Coordinators

First Year Experience Coordinators are lecturers appointed to work with their Head of School and Course Coordinators on a range of responsibilities to enhance the experience of first year students at JCU.

More information about the role is set out in the Charter of Responsibilities for Academic Quality (Learning and Teaching).

The First Year Experience Coordinators for Townsville and Cairns are listed below, by course.

First Year Experience Coordinators – Townsville, Bebegu Yumba campus

Course First Year Experience Coordinator Email
Arts Marie Oelgemoeller
Biomedical Science Vicki Dunk
Business Dr Alf Kuilboer
EducationTanya Doyle
Engineering  Pat Higgins
Information Technology

Dr Mangalam Sankupellay

Lindsay Ward
Laws Neil
Medicine and SurgeryHelen
Nursing, Midwifery and Nutrition Julie Shepherd
Occupational Therapy Philippa Lawrence
Pathways Program Colleen Kaesehagen
Pharmacy Martina Mylrea
Physiotherapy Sue Barrs
Psychology Connar McShane
Social Work Peter Jones
Speech Pathology Frances Cochrane
Sport and Exercise Science/Exercise Physiology Denise
Veterinary Science Donnalee Taylor

First Year Experience Coordinators – Cairns, Nguma-bada campus

Course First Year Experience Coordinator Email
Arts Nick Osbaldiston
Business Chris Ware
Dental Surgery Dr Ernest Jennings
Information TechnologyDr Art
Science and Advanced ScienceDr Tasmin
Marine ScienceDr Tasmin
Nursing and MidwiferyMaria Liston
Pathways Program Kristi
Social Work Jo Mensinga