COVID-19 Advice for the JCU Community - Last updated: 8 June 2022, 12pm (AEST)

First Year Experience Coordinators

First Year Experience Coordinators are lecturers appointed to work with their Head of School and Course Coordinators on a range of responsibilities to enhance the experience of first year students at JCU.

More information about the role is set out in the Charter of Responsibilities for Academic Quality (Learning and Teaching).

The First Year Experience Coordinators for Townsville and Cairns are listed below, by course.

First Year Experience Coordinators – Townsville, Bebegu Yumba campus

Course First Year Experience CoordinatorEmail
ArtsAPROF Victoria Kuttainenvictoria.kuttainen@jcu.edu.au
Biomedical Science Vicki Dunk vicki.dunk@jcu.edu.au
Business Dr Alf Kuilboer alf.kuilboer1@jcu.edu.au
Education Dr Tanya Doyle tanya.doyle@jcu.edu.au
Engineering  Pat Higgins patrick.higgins@jcu.edu.au
Geology Dr Ioan Sanislavioan.sanislav@jcu.edu.au
Information Technology

Lindsay Ward

lindsay.ward@jcu.edu.au

Laws Dr Neil Dunbar neil.dunbar@jcu.edu.au
Medicine and Surgery APROF Haleagrahara Nagaraja haleagrahara.nagaraja@jcu.edu.au
Nursing and Midwifery

Natalie Cusens

natalie.cusens@jcu.edu.au
Occupational Therapy

Katie Headrick

Susan Menzies

katie.headrick@jcu.edu.au

susan.menzies@jcu.edu.au

Pathways Program Dr Rhian Morganrhian.morgan1@jcu.edu.au
Pharmacy Dr Martina Mylrea martina.mylrea@jcu.edu.au
Physiotherapy Sue Barrs sue.barrs@jcu.edu.au
PlanningAPROF David Kingdavid.king@jcu.edu.au
Psychology Dr Jessica Olivajessica.oliva@jcu.edu.au
SciencesAPROF Shaun Belwardshaun.belward@jcu.edu.au
Social Work Dr Albert Kuruvilaalbert.kuruvila@jcu.edu.au
Speech Pathology Gareth Lloyd gareth.lloyd@jcu.edu.au
Sport and Exercise Science Dr Jonathan Connorjonathan.connor@jcu.edu.au
Veterinary Science Dr Sandra De Cat sandra.decat@jcu.edu.au

First Year Experience Coordinators – Cairns, Nguma-bada campus

Course First Year Experience CoordinatorEmail
Arts Dr Roger Osborne roger.osborne@jcu.edu.au
Business Chris Ware christian.ware@jcu.edu.au
Dental Surgery Dr Kate Millerkate.miller1@jcu.edu.au
Education Dr Satine Winter satine.winter@jcu.edu.au
Engineering Jeremy Gordon jeremy.gordon@jcu.edu.au
Information Technology Dr Art Suwanwiwat art.suwanwiwat@jcu.edu.au
Laws Rachel Bradshaw rachel.bradshaw@jcu.edu.au
Nursing and Midwifery Maria Liston maria.liston@jcu.edu.au
Pathways Program Dr Rhian Morganrhian.morgan1@jcu.edu.au
Pharmacy Dr Martina Mylrea martina.mylrea@jcu.edu.au
Planning APROF Lisa Law lisa.law@jcu.edu.au
Sciences Dr Tasmin Rymer tasmin.rymer@jcu.edu.au
Social Work Dr Jo Mensinga jo.mensinga@jcu.edu.au