First Year Experience Coordinators

First Year Experience Coordinators are lecturers appointed to work with their Head of School and Course Coordinators on a range of responsibilities to enhance the experience of first year students at JCU.

More information about the role is set out in the Charter of Responsibilities for Academic Quality (Learning and Teaching).

The First Year Experience Coordinators for Townsville and Cairns are listed below, by course.

First Year Experience Coordinators – Townsville, Bebegu Yumba campus

Course First Year Experience CoordinatorEmail
Arts Dr Marie Oelgemoeller marie.oelgemoeller@jcu.edu.au
Biomedical Science Vicki Dunk vicki.dunk@jcu.edu.au
Business Dr Alf Kuilboer alf.kuilboer1@jcu.edu.au
Education Dr Tanya Doyle tanya.doyle@jcu.edu.au
Engineering  Pat Higgins patrick.higgins@jcu.edu.au
Geology Dr Jan Huizenga jan.huizenga@jcu.edu.au
Information Technology

Dr Mangalam Sankupellay

Lindsay Ward

mangalam.sankupellay@jcu.edu.au

lindsay.ward@jcu.edu.au
Laws Neil Dunbar neil.dunbar@jcu.edu.au
Medicine and Surgery APROF Haleagrahara Nagaraja haleagrahara.nagaraja@jcu.edu.au
Nursing and Midwifery

Natalie Cusens

Maria Liston

natalie.cusens@jcu.edu.au

maria.liston@jcu.edu.au

Occupational Therapy Jackie Eagers jackie.eagers@jcu.edu.au
Pathways Program Kate Sheppard kate.sheppard@jcu.edu.au
Pharmacy Dr Martina Mylrea martina.mylrea@jcu.edu.au
Physiotherapy Sue Barrs sue.barrs@jcu.edu.au
Planning APROF David King david.king@jcu.edu.au
Psychology Dr Connar McShane connar.mcshane@jcu.edu.au
Social Work Dr Hyacinth Udah hyacinth.udah@jcu.edu.au
Speech Pathology Gareth Lloyd gareth.lloyd@jcu.edu.au
Sport and Exercise Science Dr Denise Turner denise.turner@jcu.edu.au
Veterinary Science Dr Sandra De Cat sandra.decat@jcu.edu.au

First Year Experience Coordinators – Cairns, Nguma-bada campus

Course First Year Experience CoordinatorEmail
Arts Dr Roger Osborne roger.osborne@jcu.edu.au
Business Chris Ware christian.ware@jcu.edu.au
Dental Surgery Dr Ernie Jennings ernest.jennings@jcu.edu.au
Education Dr Satine Winter satine.winter@jcu.edu.au
Engineering Jeremy Gordon jeremy.gordon@jcu.edu.au
Information Technology Dr Art Suwanwiwat art.suwanwiwat@jcu.edu.au
Laws Rachel Bradshaw rachel.bradshaw@jcu.edu.au
Nursing and Midwifery Maria Liston maria.liston@jcu.edu.au
Pathways Program Kate Sheppard kate.sheppard@jcu.edu.au
Pharmacy Dr Martina Mylrea martina.mylrea@jcu.edu.au
Planning APROF Lisa Law lisa.law@jcu.edu.au
Sciences Dr Tasmin Rymer tasmin.rymer@jcu.edu.au
Social Work Dr Jo Mensinga jo.mensinga@jcu.edu.au