First Year Experience Coordinators

First Year Experience Coordinators are lecturers appointed to work with their Head of School and Course Coordinators on a range of responsibilities to enhance the experience of first year students at JCU.

More information about the role is set out in the Charter of Responsibilities for Academic Quality (Learning and Teaching).

The First Year Experience Coordinators for Townsville and Cairns are listed below, by course.

First Year Experience Coordinators – Townsville

Course First Year Experience Coordinator Email
Arts Marie Oelgemoeller marie.oelgemoeller@jcu.edu.au
Biomedical Science Helma Antony helma.antony@jcu.edu.au
Business Alf Kuilboer alf.kuilboer1@jcu.edu.au
ChemistryMark Barnesmark.barnes@jcu.edu.au
Creative Arts and MediaRyan Danielryan.daniel@jcu.edu.au
EducationTanya Doyle tanya.doyle@jcu.edu.au
Engineering and Physical Science Pat Higgins patrick.higgins@jcu.edu.au
Environmental PlanningDavid Kingdavid.king@jcu.edu.au
Environmental ManagementYetta Gurtneryetta.gurtner@jcu.edu.au
Information Technology

Dianna Hardy

Mangalam Sankupellay

dianna.hardy@jcu.edu.au

mangalam.sankupellay@jcu.edu.au
Laws Rachel Bradshaw rachel.bradshaw@jcu.edu.au
Science and Advanced Science Janine Sheaves janine.sheaves@jcu.edu.au
Medicine and Surgery Helen Anscomb  helen.anscomb@jcu.edu.au
Molecular and Cell Biology Alex Roberts alex.roberts@jcu.edu.au
Nursing and Midwifery Julie Shepherd julie.shepherd@jcu.edu.au
Occupational Therapy Elizabeth Browne elizabeth.browne1@jcu.edu.au
Pathways Program Kate Sheppard kate.sheppard@jcu.edu.au
Pharmacy Tori Llewelyn tori.llewelyn@jcu.edu.au
Physiotherapy Sue Barrs sue.barrs@jcu.edu.au
Psychology Kayla Morris kayla.morris@jcu.edu.au
Social Work Peter Jones peter.jones1@jcu.edu.au
Speech Pathology Frances Cochrane frances.cochrane1@jcu.edu.au
Sport and Exercise Science/Exercise Physiology Teneale McGuckin teneale.mcguckin@jcu.edu.au
Veterinary Science Donnalee Taylor donnalee.taylor@jcu.edu.au

First Year Experience Coordinators – Cairns campus

Course First Year Experience Coordinator Email
Arts Nick Osbaldiston nick.osbaldiston@jcu.edu.au
Business Chris Ware christian.ware@jcu.edu.au
ChemistryMark Barnesmark.barnes@jcu.edu.au
Creative Arts and Media Robyn Glade-Wright robyn.gladewright@jcu.edu.au
Dental Surgery Ernest Jennings ernest.jennings@jcu.edu.au
EducationAnne Stephensanne.stephens@jcu.edu.au
Engineering and Physical ScienceJeremy Gordonjeremy.gordon@jcu.edu.au
Environmental PracticeSilvia Tavaressilvia.tavares1@jcu.edu.au
GeologyPeter Whiteheadpeter.whitehead@jcu.edu.au
Information Technology

Eugene McArdle

Art Suwanwiwat

eugene.mcardle@jcu.edu.au

art.suwanwiwat@jcu.edu.au
Laws Nichola Corbett-Jarvis nichola.corbettjarvis@jcu.edu.au
Science and Advanced Science Tasmin Rymer tasmin.rymer@jcu.edu.au
Nursing and MidwiferyMaria Liston maria.liston@jcu.edu.au
Pathways Program Kristi Giselssonkristi.giselsson@jcu.edu.au
PlanningLisa Lawlisa.law@jcu.edu.au
Psychology Carolyn Timms carolyn.timms@jcu.edu.au
Social Work Jo Mensinga jo.mensinga@jcu.edu.au
Sport and Exercise Science/Exercise Physiology Kelly Sinclair kelly.sinclair1@jcu.edu.au