COVID-19 Advice for the JCU Community - Last updated: 21 January 2022, 8am (AEST)

LTSE Awards & Citations

Awards & Citations

A range of teaching awards and citations are offered through the Directorate of Learning, Teaching and Student Engagement and the Teaching and Learning Academy, while national awards are offered through the Department of Education and Training (applications via JCU).

Sessional Teaching Awards recognise the significant contributions made by sessional staff to the JCU teaching and learning community. College Deans may nominate any staff member who has been employed on a sessional basis throughout the year.

Four awards, with a prize value of $500 each, were awarded in 2021.

Inclusive Practice Awards recognise JCU staff who have demonstrated exceptional commitment to assisting students with disabilities. Nominations are made by students who are registered with AccessAbility Services.

The awards recognise staff who are flexible, consultative, proactive and/or innovative in addressing the challenges faced by students who are studying with a temporary or permanent disability, injury, illness or health condition.

James Cook University recognises outstanding practice in teaching and scholarship in many ways.  The Inclusive and Accessible LearnJCU Site Awards is one such example.  These awards are an initiative of the Division of Student Life and facilitated by Learning, Teaching and Student Engagement Directorate.

Two awards, with a prize value of $500 each were awarded in 2021.

JCU Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning recognise and reward the diverse contributions that individuals and teams make to the quality of student learning in a specific area of responsibility over a sustained period.

Six citations valued at $4,000 each were awarded across the Townsville, Cairns and Singapore campuses. Additionally, the individual or team considered to have made the most outstanding contribution to student learning received a further $6,000 (total award of $10,000).  Winners were formally recognised as leaders of learning and teaching on 7 October at the Celebrating Excellence in Learning & Teaching at JCU:  Citations, Inclusive Practice and Sessional Teaching Awards.

    The Australian Awards for University Teaching (AAUT) were established in 1997 by the Australian Government to celebrate and reward excellence in university teaching.

    The Australian Awards for University Teaching recognise teaching excellence and outstanding contributions to student learning. The program is highly competitive and involves an intensive selection process to assess the achievements of applicants. JCU staff who wish to apply for a National Citation or Award must first engage in a rigorous internal nomination process. Only the most competitive nominations will be chosen for national consideration.

    All AAUT nominations are supported by the Directorate and submitted by the University on behalf of the candidate. For AAUT nomination details, please click here

    There are three categories:
  • National Citations for Outstanding Contributions to Student Learning
  • National Awards for Programs that Enhance Learning
  • National Awards for Teaching Excellence.

For further information, please contact: